One Day Workshop on

COASTAL ENVIRONMENT DAY

(25 year of Coastal Regulation Zone)

19 February 2016 9.30 am – 5.30 pm

on

National Centre for Earth Science Studies (NCESS) Thiruvananthapuram

Inauguration: Prof.(Dr.) B. Madhusoodana Kurup

(Vice-Chancellor, Kerala University of Fisheries &Ocean Studies, Kochi)

Presided by: Prof. George Varghese

(Director, Kerala State Council for Science, Technology & Environment)

Speakers:

- Dr.V.M. Tiwari, Director, NCESS
- Dr. C.T.S. Nair, Former Executive Vice President, KSCSTE
- Fr. Sunny Jose, Principal, St Xavier's College, Thumba
- Prof. Kerry Peter Black, Sanctuary beach, Singapore
- Dr. Wafer, NIO Goa
- Dr. M. Baba, Former Executive Director CAT ESSC, Pune
- Prof. Khaleel Chovva, Kannur University
- Dr. Syed Ismail Koya, Former Director, Science and Technology Dept., Lakshadweep
- * Prof. K.V. Jayachandran, Director, Research, KUFOS-
- Dr. K.K Ramachandran, Scientist NCESS
- Dr. R. Ajayakumar Varma, Scientist NCESS
- Dr. Titto D Cruz, Coastal Watch,
- Dr. K. Ajith Joseph, Executive Director, Nansen Environmental Research Centre India (NERCI)
- Dr. L Sheela Nair, Scientist NCESS

Organized by:











Coastal Environment Day – 25 years of CRZ Programme

09 30 - 10 30	:	Inauguration
Welcome	:	Dr K V Thomas, President, SISEM
Presidential Address	:	Prof George Varghese, Director, KSCSTE & Member Secretary, KCZMA
Inauguration	:	Prof (Dr) B Madhusoodana Kurup, Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, KUFOS
Special Address	:	Dr V M Tiwari, Director, NCESS
	:	Dr C T S Nair, former Executive Vice President, KSCSTE & former Chairman, KCZMA
	:	Fr Sunny Jose S J, Principal, St Xavier's College, Thumba
Vote of Thanks	:	Dr Kamalakshan Kokkal, Joint Director & Head, CED, KSCSTE
10 30 – 10 45	:	Tea Break

Technical Session I (10 45 – 12 15pm)

Chairman	:	Dr N P Kurian, former Director, NCESS
Co- Chairmen	:	Dr R S Kankara, Scientist, ICMAM
	:	Dr Joseph Mathew, Director, Sanctuary Beach, Singapore
Dr Kerry Black	:	Adding value to beach protection projects now and under climate change scenarios
Dr M Baba	:	Indian initiatives in Coastal Zone Management
Dr K K Ramachandran	:	Coastal Zone Management Plan – CRZ (2011) of Kerala

Technical Session II (12 15 – 13 30)

Chairman	:	Dr M V Ramana Murthy, Member NCZMA & Scientist G, NIOT
Co- Chairmen	:	Dr T N Prakash, Scientist G, Group Head, CoP, NCESS
	:	Dr Kamalakshan Kokkal, Joint Director, KSCSTE
Dr B R Subramanian	:	Advantages in implementation of CRZ Notification in Disaster Mitigation
Dr Titto Dcruz	:	CRZ notification and CZMP (2011) – Concerns & apprehensions of communities
Prof Khaleel Chovva	:	Socio-economic Influence of the Mangrove Wetlands

13 30 – 14 00 : Lunch break

Technical Session III (14 00 – 15 45)

Chairman	:	Prof K Padmakumar, Pro Vice Chancellor, KUFOS & Member KCMA
Co- Chairmen	:	Dr Biju Kumar, Associate Professor, Dept of Aquatic Biology, Kerala University
	:	Fr Mathias, Director, Fishery Study Centre
Prof K V Jayachandran		Fishery resources and conservation of coastal ecosystems
Dr M Wafer	:	Coral ecosystems
Dr K Ajith Joseph	:	, Impact of climate change on coastal systems
Dr R Ajaykumar Varma		A framework for the Integrated Management Plan of Vembanadu
Dr L Sheela Nair	:	Anthropogenic interventions and coastal stability
15 AF 16 00		
15 45 – 16 00	:	Tea Break
16 00 – 17 30	:	Panel discussion on CZMP of Kerala and development perspectives
Chairman	:	Prof (Dr) N R Menon (NANSEN Centre & former Member, KCZMA)
Co-Chairmen	:	Dr M N M Nair (Secretary, SISEM)
	:	Dr P. K Dinesh Kumar (NIO, Kochi)
Panellists	:	Prof George Varghese (Director, KSCSTE & Member Secretary, KCZMA)
	:	Dr Kamalakshan Kokkal (Joint Director, KSCSTE & Head, CED)
	:	Dr K K Ramachandran (Scientist, NCESS & former Member Secretary, KCZMA)
	:	Dr P Harinarayanan (Scientist E1, KSCSTE)
	:	Sri Eapen Varughese (former CTP Govt of Kerala & former & Member, KCZMA)
	:	Dr Prasada Rao (KUFOS & former Scientist, NPOL)
	:	Dr K V Thomas (President SISEM & Member, LCZMA)
With input from	:	Dr Benny Peter (Kerala University Fishery and Ocean Studies)
	:	Dr N Rajendran (Kerala University Fishery and Ocean Studies)
	:	Dr Sabu Joseph (Associate Professor, Environment Sciences, Kerala University)
	:	Dr Harindranathan Nair (School of Environmental Science, CUSAT)
	:	Dr Basil Mathew (NPOL, Kochi)